Accessibility Tools

Mobility Cup 2017 - Kelowna, BC


The smoke cleared and the racing began!

The southern part of the BC interior had been blanked by acrid smoke from a 32,000-acre wildfire burning just south of the border – but this cleared in time for the racing to begin.

Forty-two sailors from across Canada and into the US – with a particularly strong Californian contingent – competed in another memorable Mobility Cup. Winds were somewhat variable, being at various times too low, then too high, then switching direction, but when they were right they were perfect, and some fine racing took place.

Particularly notable this year was contestant Ean Price – who just happens to be coordinator of the Kelowna chapter of the Tetra Society of North America which creates custom assistive devices – who devised his own boat control solution. Unable to use either sip ‘n’ puff or joystick option, he invented a one-of-a-kind ‘magic fingers’ in which an adapted glove allowed him to press wires that steered the boat. For this ingenuity a new recognition was instigated: The Ean Price Outside the Box Award.

And a special mention goes to CanAm Mobility, in Kelowna, for donating four vans with drivers for the duration of the event. Thank you for your support!



DSA BC, Okanagan branch
Kelowna Yacht Club


September 11-15, 2017


Regatta Chairs

Tracy Delorme & Larry Clark


Purchase two lifts to aid transfers

Trophy winners

Gold Fleet winner | Pierre Richard, Montréal, QC
Silver Fleet winner| Monique Trudel, Verdun, QC
Top sip 'n' puff sailor |Chris Loscerbo, Chemainus, BC

Gold Fleet Results


Silver Fleet Results

1 Pierre Richard Montreal, QC
2 Marc Villeneuve Laval, QC
3 Brian Peckover Carleton Place, ON
4 Shaylagh Ley Nepean, ON
5 Wayne Phillips Richmond, BC
6 Dale Keith Calgary, AB
7 Jim Thweatt West Sacramento, CA
8 Sara Lambert Calgary, AB
9 Alyssa Belliveau Grande-Digue, NB
10 Gerry Burns Vancouver, BC
11 Wendy Frazier Calgary, AB
12 Hafsa Chaar Montreal, QC
13 Steve Muse Poway, CA
14 Dylan Young Kentfield, CA
15 Karell Régnier Gatineau, QC
16 Julie Curry Jones San Mateo, CA
17 Chris Loscerbo Chemainus, BC
18 Ron Newman Regina, SK
19 John Wallace San Jose , Ca
20 Howard Scott Kelowna, BC
21 Rene Dallaire Montréal, QC
1 Monique Trudel Verdun, QC
2 Doreen Ames Ottawa, ON
3 Alice Tidwell Oroville, CA
4 Bradley Stephenson Burlington, VT
5 Ted Taylor Kelowna, BC
6 Tim Grant Albany, CA
7 Nicholas Marston Vancouver, BC
8 Al Nicolls Hamilton, ON
9 Sarah Morris-Probert West Kelowna, BC
10 Pippa Blake Victoria, BC
11 Pierre-Yves Levesque Montreal, QC
12 Judy Winship Regina, SK
13 Andrew Davis Vancouver, BC
14 Shara Gutsche Port Coquitlam, BC
15 Peter Pang Kingston, ON
16 Ray Hedstrom Duncan, BC
17 Ron Ginther Westbank, BC
18 Thomas Webb Regina, SK
19 Hayley Redmond St. John's, NL
20 Brian Lechelt Kelowna, BC
21 Ean Price Kelowna, BC

Thank you Volunteers

Our volunteers make Mobility Cup a success!

Please register as a volunteer and join our team.

WRONG API KEY, Check Openweathermap API KEY through site:

Copyright © 2024 Mobility Cup. All rights reserved. Tous droits réservés.