Accessibility Tools

Mobility Cup 1997 - Calgary, AB

Mobility Cup was held outside British Columbia for the first time in 1997, being hosted by Disabled Sailing Association of Alberta and Glenmore Sailing Club. DSA Alberta had been formed in 1994, inspired by the British Columbia programs, so hosting the national regatta gave the club a considerable boost.

Organizers stated that there were at that time “more than 30,000 adults and children with mobility impairments in Calgary, any of whom may benefit from accessibility to sailing as a recreational and therapeutic experience.” The event included a practice day followed by five days’ racing for 28 competitors, using both the Sunbird and Martin 16 adaptive sailboats.

The event is memorable as Mobility Cup 1997 was approved by the Canadian Yachting Association as Canada’s Qualifying Regatta for the International Foundation for Disabled Sailing (IFDS) Single-Handed Class to compete at the IFDS North/South American Regional Regatta in St. Petersburg, Florida, in October, 1997.


Glenmore Sailing Club,
Calgary, Alberta


Disabled Sailing Association of Alberta
Glenmore Sailing Club


Aug. 24 – 29, 1997


Regatta Chairman, Ron Pawlyk
Race Committee Chair, Bill Purves-Smith


First event held outside of British Columbia; growth of DSA Alberta

Trophy winners

Mobility Cup | Danny McCoy, Toronto, ON

Silver Fleet winner| Dale Keith, Calgary, AB

Top sip 'n' puff sailor | Rene Dallaire, Montreal, QC

Gold Fleet Results

1 Danny McCoy Toronto, ON
2 Jamie Whitman Delta, BC
3 Ken Kelly Victoria, BC
4 Merle Hickey Calgary, AB
5 Wayne Phillips Richmond, BC
6 Alice Tidwell Oroville, CA
7 Borys Majdecki Kelowna, BC
8 Brent Foote Delta, BC
9 John McRoberts Victoria, BC
10 Ken Bartell Surrey, BC
11 Greg Jacobs Chico, CA
12 Ron Pawlyk Calgary, AB
13 Hans van Leening Kelowna, BC

Silver Fleet Results

1 Dale Keith Calgary, AB
2 Laura Dawn Bollen Vancouver, BC
3 Jeremy Watney Victoria, BC
4 Rene Dallaire Montreal, QC
5 Joe Coughlin Victoria, BC
6 Carole Miles Landmark, MB
7 Chuck Kaiser Larkspur, CA
8 Sandy Bartols Montgomery, IL 
9 Murray Wood Sarnia, ON
10 Denis Coderre L'assomption, QC
11 Gerry Purchase Ottawa, ON
12 John Belyea

Thank you Volunteers

Our volunteers make Mobility Cup a success!

Please register as a volunteer and join our team.

WRONG API KEY, Check Openweathermap API KEY through site:

Copyright © 2024 Mobility Cup. All rights reserved. Tous droits réservés.