Accessibility Tools

Mobility Cup 1995 - Victoria, BC

Mobility Cup was held outside Vancouver for the first time in 1995 – even though host city Victoria is only 69 km (43 miles) away. Nevertheless, fledgling sailing clubs across the country learned that event founder Sam Sullivan was interested in seeing the event held in other provinces, in order to promote sailing for people with disabilities on a national basis.

This year also saw a key behind-the-scenes decision – to commission a high speed, maneuverable sailboat especially designed for people with disabilities. When Vancouver’s Don Martin designed the Martin 16 in 1995, he included power-assisted controls. Mark Isaak of M.I.D.S. was called in to create a versatile (mouth-operated) sip ‘n’ puff control system for the Martin 16. In 1998 he worked with  Steve Alvey, of Disabled Sailing Association Alberta, to design the portable, modular system that is in used today.


The Canadian Forces Sailing Association ,
Esquimalt Squadron, British Columbia.


DSA Victoria
CFSA Esquimalt Squadron


Aug. 16 – 20, 1995


Regatta Chairmen, Doug Nutting & Bill Macdonald
Race Committee Chair, Barry Bladen


First ever Mobility Cup held outside of Vancouver, BC

Trophy winners

Gold Fleet winner | Ken Bartell, Surrey, BC

Silver Fleet winner| Sonja Sutmoller Snijders, Victoria, BC

Top sip 'n' puff sailor | Rene Dallaire, Montreal, QC

Gold Fleet Results

1 Ken Bartell Surrey, BC
2 Jamie Dunross South Underup, Western Astralia
3 Brent Foote Delta, BC
4 Alice Tidwell Oroville, CA
5 Merle Hickey Calgary, AB
6 Lance Hinrichs White Plains, NY
7 Roy Crawford Cobble Hill, BC
8 John McRoberts Victoria, BC
9 Hans Van Leening Kelowna, BC
10 Graham Todd Victoria, BC
11 Terry LeBlanc Vancouver, BC
12 Sam Sullivan Vancouver, BC
13 Michel Pelletier Charlesburg, QC
14 Ken Kelly Victoria, BC

Silver Fleet Results

1 Sonja Sutmoller Snijders Victoria, BC
2 Dale Keith Calgary, AB
3 Dave Symington Victoria, BC
4 Wayne Phillips Richmond, BC
5 Martine Talbot Laval, QC
6 Bob Melanson Dieppe, NB
7 Kevin Hansen Eugene, OR
8 Chuck Kaiser Larkspur, CA
9 Marvin Davidson Surrey, BC
10 Rene Dallaire Montreal, QC
11 David Leigh Victoria, BC
12 Murray Wood Sarnia, ON
13 Sam Waheed Woodbury, MN
14 Pierre Vachon Ottawa, ON

Thank you Volunteers

Our volunteers make Mobility Cup a success!

Please register as a volunteer and join our team.

WRONG API KEY, Check Openweathermap API KEY through site:

Copyright © 2024 Mobility Cup. All rights reserved. Tous droits réservés.