Accessibility Tools

Mobility Cup 1999 - Toronto, ON

Mobility Cup grew again, involving 61 sailors – each handling a Martin 16 – sailing in Toronto, ON

Only the ninth ever event, it featured an adaptive sailing symposium, followed by one day’s on-the-water practice and then four day’s racing. The International Disabled Sailing Symposium, led by the Canadian Yachting Association, considered all aspects of developing sailing opportunities for people with disabilities.

Billed as “the largest and most international fleet assembled to date,” it featured competitors from Canada, USA, Bermuda, Australia and Portugal.


National Yacht Club,
Toronto, Ontario


Disabled Sailing Association of Ontario
National Yacht Club


Sept. 12 – 17, 1999


Regatta Chairman, Danny McCoy
Event Coordinator, Angie Farquhar


Formation of Disabled Sailing Association of Ontario

Trophy winners

Mobility Cup | Danny McCoy, Toronto, ON

Coupe Dallaire | Brenda Poole, Toronto, ON

Sam Sullivan Trophy | Chris Loscerbo, Chemainus, BC

Gold Fleet Results


Silver Fleet Results

1 Danny McCoy Toronto, ON
2 Zoltan Pegan Sydney, Australia
3 John McRoberts Victoria, BC
4 Campbell Perry Ancaster, ON
5 Graham Alvey Calgary, AB
6 Brent Foote Delta, BC
7 Merle Hickey Calgary, AB
8 Dale Keith Calgary, AB
9 Lee Buratti Costa Mesa, CA
10 Hans van Leening Kelowna, BC
11 Wayne Phillips Vancouver, BC
12 Herb Meyer Larkspur, CA
13 Bob Jones Issaquah, WA
14 Bruce Miller Hudson Park, ON
15 Jamie Whitman Delta, BC
16 Jeremy Watney Victoria, BC
17 Scott Wilson Calgary, AB
18 Ken Bartell Vancouver, BC
19 Chris Loscerbo Chemainus, BC
20 Tom Parker Ottawa, ON
21 Mark Evju Santa Rosa, CA
22 Laura Dawn Bollen Vancouver, BC
23 Debbie Donald Toronto, ON
24 Graham Rayner Sydney, Australia
25 Carole Miles Landmark, MN
26 Rob Battilana Kelowna, BC
27 Nancy Graver Lemont, IL
28 Martine St Yves  
29 Patrick Standen Burlington, VT
30 Sam Sullivan Vancouver, BC
31 Paul Girvin Nepean, ON
1 Brenda Poole Toronto, ON
2 Alice Tidwell Oroville, CA
3 Jack Robertson San Diego, CA
4 John Kucan Niagra-on the-Lake,ON
5 Sandy Bartols Montgomery, IL 
6 Patrick Hebert Montreal, QC
7 Thomas Franklin Miami, FL
8 G Becker  
9 Mark Landry N.D. Ile-Perrot, QC
10 J Monk  
11 Joseph Guay Newport, RI
12 Donna DeMarest Waterbury, CT
13 David Whalen Scotia, NY
14 Robb Lawrence Calgary, AB
15 Han Tacoma Don Mills, ON
16 Amy Scaramuzzino Rochester, NY
17 Karen Bergsteinsson Etobicoke, ON
18 Katie Gerke Calgary, AB
19 Ed Thompson Calgary, AB
20 Joe Coughlin Victoria, BC
21 Dorn Roch Mississauga, ON
22 Alexander Mitchell Flatts, Bermuda
23 George Simspon Ottawa, ON
24 Z Ferreira  
25 Alnoor Nanji North York, ON
26 John Merritt Buffalo, NY
27 Darren Tucker Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
28 Edward Tyrell Toronto, ON
29 Peter Hudson Long Beach, CA
30 Jay Stagg Clearwater, FL

Your Hosts

Able Sail Toronto
National Yacht Club

1 Stadium Road,
Toronto, ON
M5V 3H4


43.6316, -79.4021


29 May 2023 Mugg's Island, CA


Clear Sky

Humidity 36%
UV index 0 - Low
Pressure 1016hPa
Wind speed 5m/s • 350°
  • 800 Tue, 30 05 21°C
  • 800 Wed, 31 05 24°C
  • 801 Thu, 1 06 23°C
  • 804 Fri, 2 06 25°C
  • 800 Sat, 3 06 22°C
  • 800 Sun, 4 06 21°C
Copyright © 2023 Mobility Cup. All rights reserved. Tous droits réservés.